Why is there so much animosity between drivers and cyclists?

I seem to be doing most of my posting on Fit is a Feminist Issue these days (when I’m not traveling, I guess). This is long-ish but it’s something I’ve been pondering and asking everyone about all summer.

Why is there so much conflict between cyclists, cars and pedestrians? (Guest post)

Particularly resonant given that my commuter bike was stolen on Wednesday. The contrast between the freewheeling joy I usually feel while riding and all the bumps you navigate in that ride.

One response to “Why is there so much animosity between drivers and cyclists?

  1. Hello, I think that cyclists have as much right as cars to share the road. We may be experiencing growing pains as a country as we move to make the roads safer and more bicycle friendly, by building bicycle lanes. Good move! In the Netherlands the bicycle lanes have allowed cyclists a safer and more stress free ride on the roads. I hope that this happens here in Canada too. I like to follow the rules of the road and am happy to see that many cyclists also do so.

Leave a Reply

