Niece at cottage

My niece, inspecting my feet as I lie on the rocks in the sun. “Your feet are cracked. And your polish is all icky. And your toes are hairy.”

Out loud: my feet are worn out because I used them so much this summer! And I just ran 12 km!

My niece: “You’d better get them fixed up before you run that race next week!”

Me, suddenly, viscerally remembering how much my grandmother hated it when I would swing the loose skin under her arms and make wooobling noises.

One response to “Niece at cottage

  1. Bwahaha! I think that might be karma in action.

Leave a Reply

