Aftermath

Turns out that we had record rainfall in that hour and a half yesterday while MJ and I talked so avidly about death. My city swum into flooded chaos, blackouts, commuters trapped in trains.

This underpass just northwest of me filled up with water, which led to closed streets. I walked up 28 humid flights of stairs, not for the first time, it turned out. Lots of reflecting on how dependent we are on our infrastructure (those two bottles of bubbly water aren’t going to get me far).

The underpass was mostly drained today, and I walked through it on my soggy way to the post office, a window before another power outage. Sweating tiles, mud, a smell of underneath, the rocks we shouldn’t lift.

photo-5

(365/5 – 7.9)

Leave a Reply

