#96 Newborn lamb (04.05)

When we were marauding all over the countryside to capture and cuddle little lambs, we met a ewe who had literally just given birth.


(#96 04.05)

She was still licking the mucus off her teeny baby, and she hadn’t even shed her placenta yet.

We watched for about ten minutes. Finch encouraged me to go closer, and I found myself feeling like I was intruding, on this primeval bonding moment. “To be a good wildlife photographer, you do need to be a bit intrusive,” he said. He was right, but I held back. And I held my breath as the little lambie struggled to get to its little feet.

Then we left them alone.

One response to “#96 Newborn lamb (04.05)

  1. What a moment. Beautiful. Thanks for meandering with your camera.

Leave a Reply

