#44: Page Proofs (02.13.12)

We got the page proofs for our CMM book, which will be out in April.

I have to fix my name to Catherine, but it’s pretty darn cool.

Now my week is the enormous indexing job. I have the topics outlined, but I have to go through the MS laboriously and identify every relevant page number, and then input them.

It’s a strange feeling — I’m proud of the book as a project, and I liked learning about what it takes to edit a collection, make some cohesive sense of it, create a collage of voices. There are a lot of really thoughtful, emotional, moving pieces in it. And it’s also odd to realize that it’s not a Book in the sense of “read from page 1” but a “dip in” book for a very select crowd of people. Context is everything ;-).

Leave a Reply

