#38a (02.07.2012) Aerated parkin meringue

For my birthday, we had a romantic little jaunt to the Lake District, with two dinners at one of the highest rated restaurants in England, L’enclume.  The surfeit of food needs its own acknowledgement in images.  This is the last course (the 9th!) on the first night — aerated parkin meringue.

I actually finished the full menu on the first night, along with my share of two bottles of wine and apperitifs of champagne.  Unlike the second night, when I was felled by the duck breast with chicory, duck sweetbread and mulled cider.  Though there were four (four!) desserts to follow, and the meringue I had to go outside and get fresh air, having discovered my limit on la table exquise.

Leave a Reply

